Grownuphood

Well, folks, might as well announce it here as well.

As of Monday, I step into the adult world – I now have a real job. The pros, naturally, are that I have a job that will pay me in real money. The cons are that I have to commute for this job, and while the morning commute won’t be so bad (I’ll just be going in with my dad at the crack of dawn), the afternoon commute will be considerably longer, and I probably won’t get home until 6:30/7pm, which kind of sucks. But I do plan to move as soon as possible (to Wilmington), hopefully in time for the start of NaNoWriMo. If I haven’t moved by then, then my chances of doing Nano are reasonably slim, because there simply won’t be enough hours in the day.

But you know what, gaiz?

Today, I don’t care.
Today, nothing matters.

Today, I managed to take a crucial step into the grownup world.

13 Comments

Filed under Grownuphood

13 responses to “Grownuphood

  1. HOORAY! Congratulations on achieving grownuphood.

  2. Jay

    Way to go, your loyal lurkers couldn’t be more happy for you πŸ™‚

  3. Joe Union

    Congratulations!

  4. Congrats. I think you could do NaNo but not on the grand scale you’re usually used to. I mean, who needs sleep, right? πŸ˜‰

  5. Erin

    Fwiw, I’ve learned over the years that commuting is a pretty amazing time to write. I do a lot on my phone now, saving it as a draft in my email usually, but before I had a smartphone, I would do my daily 2k by hand in cars and buses (or while waiting for them often).

    Moving does throw a wrench into things, though. But only by a few days or a week at most. ( At least that’s what I’m hoping happens this time, since I’m moving to be closer to work myself on the 5th of November lol)

    I say this because I’d hate for you not to do the event because of this. I mean, you can do 50k in a day; doing it slowly shouldn’t be an impossibility, right? (but it is a pain in the ass)

    Congrats on the job!

  6. Congrats, Kate! You’re proof that there’s hope for the rest of us in the post-college world!

  7. Meike

    That’s great, congratulations!

  8. OldFashionedGirl

    Congratulations! But, surely, there would be a way to do Nano–even in fifteen minutes a day, you could write 50K in a month–unless, of course, you’re unwilling to do it at all unless you do it on a grand scale.

  9. Welcome to the world of having a day job to support the real job. You will need to take your time and find the balance you need to work and write. Let me know if you need any pointers and advice.

  10. Jen

    Congratulations!! You better change your ‘About’ info now! As the others say – you can knock out 50k in a weekend πŸ™‚
    My daily commute is pretty much the same as yours will be. I get up half an hour early and squeeze in 500 words, another 500 at lunchtime and the rest once I get home. I catch up at weekends and may take a day or two off in the month. Believe me, I don’t write at a fraction of the speed you do!

Leave a Reply

