Oh Yeah, I Have a Blog, Don’t I?

Hi there! Remember me?

Yeah, didn’t think so. I’ve been gone nearly a month and everyone knows the blogowebs has the memory span of a goldfish. (Interesting story, that).

Anyway, I’m here. I can’t promise I’ll be an active blogger, or anything, but I can try to get back into some sort of rhythm. You know, a constant in an otherwise dreary, unemployed existence. Yes, dear lurkers, against all odds, Kate is still unemployed. I had an interview on Friday, and learned later that afternoon I didn’t get the job. I’ve another interview in D.C. tomorrow (whee for 4 hours on the train!).  I fear I’m soon going to get to that point where I’ve been unemployed for so long that no one will even think of employing me. (On the other hand, I’ve got it down pat when they ask me what I’ve been doing for the past 15 months – taking time to pursue my creative passions and write a novel, which is wholly true. Thank goodness for that).

As for the writing front, I wasted most of July trying to rewrite something. It ended up being even more of a mess than the first time around, and so that’s been shelved indefinitely until I figure out how to write something coherent with so many characters and subplots. Right now, I’m working on a renaissance-ish story, doing some character sketches (writing short stories involving a bunch of the characters in different situations, as opposed to filling out character sheets) as I try to pin down exactly what the plot will be.

I’ve also been getting an astonishing number of new ideas lately, and I’m not sure where they’re all coming from. I suspect it’s because I’ve not really fallen in love with any project since I finished writing Burning Eden and so my mind is furiously churning, trying to come up with something that will interest me. But I’m adamantly sticking to this renaissance story, at least until I get the character sketches done.

(Of interest, I did send out a query regarding Burning Eden last week or so, but haven’t heard anything back about it yet).

Well, that’s all that my tired little brain has to say right now; back to prepping for the interview tomorrow!

Peace out, lurkers

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

