End of May

So, at the beginning of May, I posted some goals:

Edit the first part of Burning Eden. I’ve already got a notebook-page full of good ideas about what it should look like in the next go-around. I think quite a bit will have to be rewritten, but I think the changes will make it a considerably stronger opener. Also, I plan to cut it in length by at least a few thousand words, maybe by as much as half.

I’ve made a start on it, and I’m about halfway through so far.

Write the first draft of the Challenge/Secret Santa story I’ve been given over on Absolute Write. It’s not due until the end of June, but if I can get a couple of drafts in of it, it’ll actually be presentable and stuff by that time.

This is done, though it’s a mess and I’m not quite sure how I’m going to wrestle it into reasonable shape anytime soon. Of course, I will, because it’s a challenge, but it might not be pretty at the end.

Blog. Three times a week. Every week. That means eleven more entries this month. I’ve already got some ideas for them, so it’ll just be a case of making myself sit down and actually write them. That’s always been the real problem, I think, rather than lack of ideas: when there’s little for me that I *have* to do, I tend to go a little on the lazy side.

This went pretty well, aside from the me-getting-sick thing. In all, I only missed two entries. Not bad.

Think about getting one of those job things. I am very nearly a year out of university and it’s incredibly depressing to still be unemployed (and unemployable, apparently).

Well, go in for an interview tomorrow, so we’ll see how that goes.

**

In terms of how much I wrote, this was not a good month for me. Of the 31 days, I wrote no words on 13 of them. Only on five days did I wrote 4,000 or more words. My total wordcount for this month was: 67,946. That sounds fairly high, but to stay on track for milwordy (not to catch up on the words I’ve missed, just to stay on track), I need to write 84,000. As you can guess from that, I’ve fallen behind. At the beginning of the month I was 104,604 words behind. As of right now, I’m 113,688 words behind.  I just hope next month will be better.

No post tomorrow, as I’ll be in New York most of the day, and too exhausted when I get home. But June goals on Thursday, and Avatar commentary on Friday.  (4 blog posts for the price of 3!)

Ciao, lurky readers.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

