Milwordy

I’ve been meaning to write about this for some time, but I keep forgetting.

I respond well to challenges. I’m a competitive person by nature, and I like to win. That’s one of the reasons that I keep upping my goals for NaNo ever year (though 2010 will have to be something different, because I don’t feel it’s humanly possible for me to go past the million mark). The problem is, November only happens once a year. See the problems discussed in Inaction to see why once a year writing contests, in my present unemployed state, do little for me in terms of the rest of the year.

So, I present – milwordy. It doesn’t have anything like near the number of participants in NaNo (only a couple of dozen), and many of them started on different dates. But in general, the goal is to write a million words in 365 consecutive days. Going in, I thought that that sounded pretty easy for someone who spent all of November writing several tens of thousands of words a day. I decided to join on March 1st, but decided to give myself an additional challenge, given that it didn’t seem difficult enough for me: I’d backdate it to January 1st, so I’d start more than 2 months behind in my words. And it’s harder than I thought. I’m catching up on the lost words, but only slowly.

Nevertheless, it’s got me writing again, and writing useful things like my draft of Burning Eden. I have every confidence that I’ll catch up by mid-summer at the latest. I’m also hashing out a short story. There are some fun, non-publishable-in-their-current-state pieces of writing as well, but I plan to start another serious novel as soon as I finish the draft of Burning Eden. Keeping the momentum going is key.

The moral of my story: at least for me, it’s nice to have set goals and at least some competition. And despite that, most of last week I didn’t even come close to the 2800-minimum. No one’s perfect, after all.

(Disclaimer: Yes. Fully aware of the fact that producing masses of words does not make them publishable.)

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Milwordy

  1. krugka

    Aren’t they supposedly coming out with a year-long NaNo sometime? Camp NaNo, or something like that? I think they mentioned it in the last newsletter. So that will be pretty exciting.

  2. Heh, I always forget to go check that forum… Too busy on WriYe most of the time. But, uh, yeah. Definitely going for the million this year, too. *eyes you competitively*

  3. Wow, good luck with that. I’m still editing my NaNo-novel, hoping it will be ready to visit a publisher before the summer holliday.

    I’m rooting for you!

  4. I really should not look at that and think “ooh, that sounds like fun!” Still, best of luck to you!

  5. Matilda

    I’m doing Milwordy too and I’m way behind but it’s getting me writing every day which I guess is the point.

Leave a Reply

