Some Books I’ve Been Reading Lately

I don’t seem to be having much luck in picking books I’m motivated to finish until the end.

When I went looking for Ralph Nader’s latest book, I knew to some degree what I was getting into. But then again, I’ve read Ayn Rand (both The Fountainhead and Atlas Shrugged), and while I’m not a Randroid, I did enjoy them on one level. I disagree with pretty much all of her positions, but nonetheless, I found them enjoyable reads. So I figured that Nader would be the same. But it’s not. I’ve made it approximately 150 pages in, and all I’m seeing is billionaires doing super-cool-awesome things to help the country, and how awesome they are for doing it, and then they get together in Maui and talk about how awesome they are and how they plan to be awesome next. Maybe I’ve not read far enough, or maybe because my eyes glazed over and I started skimming it, I missed the subtleties. And while I’m doing my damndest to finish it, I’m not very optimistic.

And recently I made my severalth attempt at finishing Robin Hobb’s Soldier Son trilogy. I loved two of her previous trilogies (the farseer trilogy and the tawny man trilogy), and I assumed I’d like this one as well. I enjoyed the first book (but then again, I’ve always been a sucker for school stories). The beginning to early middle of the second one interested me as well, but then the main character just goes on a long wandering journey for a while. The ending is pretty good, but in my opinion, the middle is very draggy.  I bought the last one quite a while ago (as in, probably about a year ago). And I don’t think anything really important happens until about 200 pages in. The style of writing pisses me off, and I’ve been having to really push myself to read thirty or forty pages at a time. Also, the obsession with eating. Now, it’s one of the crucial points  about what makes the MC what he is, but I got that the first time it happened; I don’t need it to happen every third page. It’s more likely I’ll finish this one than Nader’s, but that’s only because there are fewer pages left to read and because in this one, stuff actually *happens*.

I miss being near a bookstore. When I lived in my apartment, I could walk half a dozen blocks to the bookstore, or fewer to the used bookstore. And yeah, I can order books online if I want, but it’s not the same *thing*. I don’t typically browse for books when I’m online. I go to look at a specific book and order it or not. I can spend a good hour or two (or more) just browsing a bookstore. Being as carless as I am and trapped in the middle of suburbia, it’s just not an option.

Back to slogging away at The Kindly Ones

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Some Books I’ve Been Reading Lately

  1. kirosl

    I couldn’t finish the last Soldier Son book. You’d probably enjoy the Live Ship trilogy. I think they’ve gotten weaker over time, which is a shame

  2. Incandescent

    Finally! Another Robin Hobb fan. I was starting to feel like I was the only one x_X

    I loved Farseer and Tawny Man, couldn’t get more than 50 pages into Liveships and dealt with the first half of Soldier Son to get to the second half.

    Have you read the new series she’s put out, about the Rainwilds? It’s kind of a continuation of Liveships, but a) less gag-inducing in the first few pages, and b) actually going somewhere. The first book, Dragon Keeper, was actually a pretty good read. A touch too McCaffrey for me (I don’t like anyone but McCaffrey playing with telepathic dragon/rider links. Call it a sore spot), but otherwise a nice fix for my Hobb cravings.

    I’ve also come to the conclusion that works written under her other name, Megan Lindholm, are hit and miss. Thought I generally despise books of the type, Cloven Hooves was a very good read and the character was almost painfully identifiable.

    The second book in the Rainwilds series, Dragon Haven, is coming out in May.

Leave a Reply

