Another flashback to NaNo

So, back on day 1 of this past November, I wrote my first 50,000 words in 24.5 hours (compressed into a single day thanks to the clock change). I was fairly proud of it when I finished; I’ve done this (50k days) a couple of times in the past as well, and I was never all that thrilled by what came out of it.  Mostly, they tended to be strange and very rambling.  So despite the fact that I felt pretty good about it at 11-whatever it was that I wrote the last word, it was with some trepidation that I printed it out yesterday and sat down to give it a quick read. The first thing I noticed was that I did actually use fewer contractions than I remembered, and that makes it read a bit awkwardly (that’s not to say there aren’t any, because there are, and they tend to show up more in the second half).  The pacing is a bit uneven; a year passes in the space of a few thousand words and then a few days take ten thousand. I still think, as I did when I finished writing it, that the ending is a bit contrived and on the heavy side of illogical, but I don’t think that it’s unfixable. The characterization isn’t very good, but I get a sense of personality from at least a couple of characters. And there are few very grammar/typo goofs, which pleases me. The worst is usually that I forgot a space or omitted a letter from a 2-letter word.  I think it helped that I had a pretty decent outline going in and a helluva lot of determination. Time to put this project officially onto the burner – it’s going to need a complete rewrite, as it’s too short, and I need to figure out how to make best use of the subplots that I callously tossed aside mid-story because I didn’t want to think about them. I think it might even be publishable (someday, naturally). A standalone fantasy, even! (it really does wrap up well; I’d have to stretch pretty hard to find a way to come up with a sequel)

In other news, it’s snowing again. This has been a super winter: biggest storm ever in December, biggest storm ever in February (this past Saturday), and the snowiest winter on record. My alma mater is, for the first time in at least 5 years, closed tomorrow. We’re looking at another 18-24 inches to go on top of the 15 we got on Saturday, and it’s not really been warm enough to melt much of it away in the intervening four days. And my arms and back were just starting to get better from shoveling on Saturday. Bah humbug. (Plus, this much snow pisses my cat off big time. He’s an outdoor cat and when he doesn’t get exercise running around out there, he gets a bit hyperactive and starts going for the other cats)

1 Comment

Filed under Nanowrimo 09

One response to “Another flashback to NaNo

  1. Bri

    I am still so amazed at your ability to pump out 50,000 a day. The most I’ve ever hit is about 14,000. Kudos!

Leave a Reply

