The View from my Bedroom Window

So, I guess I will be getting a white Christmas this year, after all. Okay, yeah, the snow out there all fell last weekend, but is that important? No! What’s important is that while out shoveling last weekend (take a look at the length of that drive off to the left) is that I seemed to do more damage to my arms and back and hand than I did writing a million words in a month. For about two days afterward, my left arm was practically crippled from muscle over-work. Fortunately, I am still young, and I’ve recovered and I can now pick things as heavy as a pencil up in my left hand and not feel like I’m going to drop them!

I’m heading off to see 2012 this afternoon. I’ve heard all sorts of panning about it, but I don’t care. Ever since I first saw the previews for it, I wanted to see it. I’m a bit of a sucker for end of the world flicks, no matter how bad the acting or the science. I’ll close my brain for a couple of hours and just enjoy myself. Going to see movies on Christmas Eve is a family tradition – back when LOTR was still coming out, me and my dad would go and see it every year. With my sister able to drive (yes, she’s younger, yes I have no driver’s license, no I have no good reason for not having one), we can even go without the parental units, which we might end up doing this year.

In positive news, I think I might have struck on a new beginning for the Novel from Hell. I’m a bit cautious about it, because I know how many times beginnings have flamed out five thousand words in, but I’m going back to my roots with this one: I’m handwriting it. I’m sure it’s a decision I’ll regret when I’m typing it up, but I remember how much simpler it is to write by hand, even if it is slower.  Fast isn’t everything, and November isn’t for another 10 months.

Anyway, happy holidays to all, and I hope that this year brought you all that you could want from life, and next year will bring you even more!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “The View from my Bedroom Window

  1. Joe Union

    Merry Christmas, Kateness.

  2. krugka

    All of the snow around here has melted in the last couple days. It’s supposed to snow tomorrow though, so Indiana may have a white Christmas yet.

    Hope your arm gets to feeling better and Merry Christmas!

    ~Kim

  3. jordanio10

    Merry Christmas Kate, see you in 2010!

  4. Meike

    A belated merry Christmas and a happy New Year to you! I plan on reading the first of your stories tonight and I’m looking forward to it 🙂

  5. Rivyolie

    2012 is fun. It’s like a massive car/plane chase, only instead of other cars/planes chasing them you have faults opening, buildings collapsing, overpasses falling at them, massive lumps of volcanic rock, clouds of volcanic ash, massive tsunamis… It’s fun!

Leave a Reply

