hello and goodbye lurky readers?

Hello, to all of you lurky readers. Yes, I know you’re there. I have a nifty stats page that shows me how many hits I get per day/week/month. It doesn’t count unique hits so I suppose it’s possible that I have one or two really, really, REALLY dedicated fans out there who come to the site hundreds of times a day. See, I’m going to share some stats with you. Last November (2008), over the course of the entire month, I got 857 hits. This November, I got 10,681. On the last day of November, I got over 1500 hits in 24 hours. This is freakin’ awesome. I love that. Of course, I’m a little obsessed by things like that and I won’t deny that many days during November, I would be updating the stats page every 15 minutes. It was usually open while I was writing, and it’s at the point where if I type in “s” in my little address-bar-window, the first site that comes up is the stats page.

Anyway. The one thing that I also notice is that post-November, the hits go way, way down. Seriously down. And then they spike again in October, when the new Nano forums go up. It’s a steady decline through December, and by January, I’m down to seriously one or two people who click on me occasionally by accident.

I get it. I’m really only interesting for one thing. I write lots and lots of words in November and everyone comes here either to a) see if I’m a giant fraud/hoax/joke b) to see how I do it c) to commiserate in my general moaning the entire month.Ā  And to be fair, outside of November, I really don’t post that much and the posts generally aren’t incredibly interesting. Worse, now that I’m not even in school anymore, pretty much all I can write about, about myself, is how I sit in this chair all day and bleatingly moan for someone to hire me. I have an Ivy League degree and speak 3 languages other than English, I can write a million words in 30 days, and come the beginning of next year, I’ll probably be working in Target. Awesome. (On the other hand, I bet there are lots of fun stories that I’ll get there. But that’s seriously not the point).

So, my lurky readers, let’s make a deal. I know that I’m not a very interesting person, and I know YOU are (most likely) more interested in reading other things. I expect that most of you will vanish over the next couple of weeks and my stats will go back to where they were 3 or 4 months ago. But I’m going to make an effort, too. I do lots of reading; I’ll try to put up book reviews. I do writing the rest of the year, so I’ll try to comment on that. If I’m ever lucky enough to get a job, I might comment (in an oblique way) about that. I won’t do the news, because I want to keep this blog impartial for the day when an employer stumbles on it.

And on the day when I become a famous, NYT-bestselling author, I will give all of you longtime lurky readers a signed copy of the book. Promise.Ā  You can hold onto this post and shove it in my face on that day. And honestly, I’ll be so over the moon that I’m there that I won’t even blink. I’ll just grab up a dozen copies, sign them off and mail them away.

So, for the few of you that are reading to the end of this post, let’s try to make this work, you and I. I don’t expect you to come every day like you did in November. I won’t update every day. But once a week? Sure. I can probably do that.

25 Comments

Filed under Nanowrimo 09

25 responses to “hello and goodbye lurky readers?

  1. I follow your blog via RSS Syndication on my Livejournal friend’s list, so when I come to comment, if the stats are picking up both, I’m one of those devoted fans, haha.

    Promise I’ll stick around, btw. I think you’re good people, even in non-NaNo-season.

  2. Joe Union

    It’s a deal.

  3. Beckywannacuppateani

    I shall be sticking around post-NaNo šŸ˜€

  4. trcb

    deal

    though i will be visiting nearly everyday be you write or not.
    thanks to you I am writing every day. I have a challenge nano to nao and so will be online while I write.
    so you have one more steady lurker. I look forward to seeing what you have to say ( about writing, reviews and life too)

  5. krugka

    To be honest, I didn’t even know you existed until a month ago when I was futzing around on the NaNo forums and wandered into the overachiever’s thread. I’ve now read your entire blog and I can safely say that I’m not going anywhere anytime soon.

    I probably account for a decent number of the pings to the blog. I refreshed it (does that even count as a hit?) at least as often as I refreshed your NaNo page, if not more. So, basically I checked back about once an hour… I like being lurky ^_^

  6. jordanio10

    It’s a deal, you have me here all year round

    I’m still waiting on the trilogy and Just A Glimpse to appear on my NaNomail or my email by the way šŸ˜„

    See you tomorrow

  7. Noe

    I’m similar to krugka. I remember your name from the NaNo forums, but I never really bothered to check your blog until about a couple of weeks ago. Now you’re in my favorites, and I’ll definitely be checking once a week!

  8. *comes out from behind curtains* I’ll admit, I’m a total lurker. But I thought it might be a bit creepy for someone who randomly found your blog off the NaNo site to make lots of comments. I’ll keep checking back though. I really like your story ideas so I imagine I’ll find book reviews that you do interesting as well. šŸ™‚

  9. I too will be around. šŸ™‚

  10. I saw the same site surge in November, and it’ll be interesting to watch the site stats fall in December. We need a club. An “only interesting because of NaNo and will probably be working in Target” club. šŸ˜›

  11. Chomsky-rabbit

    I’ll stick around too.
    your blog is on my favs anyway!

  12. SilverArrow

    Deal.

    Although, ironically, I didn’t really lurk here much during NaNo as I was making myself (or attempting to) only go online to update my word count.

  13. I have your blog RSS feed on my iGoogle, so I read posts when you put them up. I think you update more in Novemer than the rest of the year, so that’s why I’m here so much more often.

  14. Lentil

    *waves*

    Hey there, I’m a lurker. I like to lurk on people’s blogs and diaries and stuff. And soup. I like to lurk in soup.

    Massive congratulations on the successful NaNoing.

    I shall add you to my favourites and stick around. šŸ˜‰

  15. Meike

    Will you ship to the Netherlands, then? šŸ˜‰ I used to follow you a couple of years ago but then you stopped your blog / I couldn’t find it anymore (don’t remember which one) but you’re back in my daily list, so.. you won’t get rid of me that easily šŸ˜‰

  16. I’ll happily stay and read. šŸ™‚

  17. Giana

    I’ll certainly be around! Hope you don’t mind another lurker šŸ˜€

  18. I checked back about once every two days last month, though it gradually increased, spiking to once every two hours on the 30th. I had never heard of you before about the 10th, though, when I finally ventured onto the forums. šŸ™‚ We’re about the same age, though you’re more accomplished (naturally – I mean, I assume you’re healthy, which I’m not) and I like to see your accomplishments, because they inspire me. šŸ™‚ So I’ll definitely be sticking around, though I’ll probably only pop in about once a week or so.

  19. silent

    I just wanted to know why you stopped at 999999

    • kateness

      I didn’t. The actual total – if you read a few posts down, there’s a screencap of the winning file – is 1,000,135. The counter on the NaNo site only allows 6 figures, so I had to stop at 999,999

  20. Rivyolie

    You are awesome. If I remember(ha), I’m so sticking around!

  21. Incandescent

    Sounds fair to me.

Leave a Reply

