Halfway Observations

Well, I’ve not caught up yet, but I’ve written 42,000 words in the past 20 hours, had 3 hours of sleep, and my brain has gone a bit fzzz for right now. I might write some more before midnight, but probably not. I’ll settle for being 6k behind, particularly since the discovery of new system that I talked about down there. I’m confident that I can catch up tomorrow, and I’m probably going to stay up pretty late tonight. (I want to stay up until 520k, though I don’t know if my fzzzbrain will have anything to say about that).

Anyway. Observations.

IN GENERAL

1) Wow. This is even harder than I thought it was going to be. It’s fun 90% of the time, but the other 10, it’s sitting down with teeth gritted, eyes bleary half-open and typing away to get those goddamn fking squids through their boringass plotline.

2) This feels really rewarding. I’m actually proud of everything I’ve put out thus far this month, and I think that I can find ways to tweak the trilogy to make it one-day publishable. The cop-serial killer romance is never going to be publishable, but everyone’s allowed to write something for fun every once in a while.

3) It is possible to do this while at home. In fact, it’s easier in some ways, harder than others. I’ve got to eat at regular hours, watch TV in the evenings, and I think that absent these things, my WC would be higher. On the other hand, I’m drinking less than I was last NaNo, and I think that that (the drinking) contributed to some of my struggles then. Sure, the ideas come, but my god, how slow my fingers move when I’m inebriated! My mother knows what I’m doing, and she thinks I’m nuts, but hasn’t told me to quit it (as long as I cook dinner every night!)

THE TRILOGY

1) This is just the weirdest sort of thing that I’ve ever tried to write, and I can tell that if it was done right (and I know my first draft(s) aren’t done right), it would be this awesomely neat experimental sort of science fiction. The first novel follows three storylines: the humans on one continent (Fayrotin), the squid aliens who they are at war with, and an apparently unconnected storyline with some primitive humanoids, and at the end of each section (of which there are five), there’s a brief little snip of “the last man” walking to his destiny to save mankind.  By the end of this first one, humans from another continent (Califf)  have appeared to help out in the war, and our primitive humanoids have been attacked by people who fell from “bright lights from the sky” (spaceships).

Book 2 follows five storylines: continuing with the humans on the first continent, the squid aliens, and the primitive humanoids, but we travel back in time to the point before the humans from Califf made the decision to enter the war and the consequences of that, and the origins of the men on the spaceships (Earth) and their journey from Earth to the planet. And again, at the end of each section, the same brief little thingy about the last man. By the end of this one, we’re just getting to the point of involving humans from continent 3 (Amcary) to help out in the war, except we find out that they’re all dead. And both the humans and the squid aliens are conspiring to genocide each other by some very lethal poisons.

Book 3 expands once more to 8 storylines. We continue with the humans on Fayrotin and Califf, the squid aliens, the humanoids and the men from earth who come to colonize the planet. But we go back in time again to see what happened to the people of Amcary, to see what happened to the people on Earth after the spaceship left (asteroid impact and such), and the last man gets a name and a goal, as we learn that he is the descendant of generations of inbreeding that has made mutations dominant and normal people almost recessive, so he has to use fetuses that have been frozen for centuries, with enough genetic differences that they’ll be able to breed well, and continue the human race.

The only problem? Nothing really works for everyone. The humans and squid aliens poison each other, the humanoids get enslaved or killed, the people on Earth die from plague and famine and their numbers slowly whittle down to nothing (to the last man), and the last man finds that the children he can create have terrible flaws of their own.

Anyway, it sounds a lot more awesome in my head than it probably does when I tried to write it out just there. It needs a lot of work and is the kind of thing that will be hell to edit, but I want to get the first draft out.

2) This thing has a *lot* of characters. Inevitably, I have favorites. That doesn’t mean, though, that my favorite can gank 15,000 words to escape/be rescued just because he’s more fun to write. Fortunately, he’s one of maybe three characters that survive this whole thing.

3) I really should have done more outlining on this thing. My plots are twisting all over the place and I’m trying to wrangle all of them just to keep them related to each other in meaningful ways.

4) I hate squid aliens. They need major fking work before draft 2.

but in general, the first 16 days have been incredible fun. I’ve been struggling from behind since about what, day 5 or 6 (can’t be bothered to go back and relive the misery),  but the way book 3 is set up is *designed* for my new 5k/hours as each of the parts in each of the sections is supposed to be 5k words. So, the goal is to get me well on track (and ahead, even?) by the time the last 7-8 days come around and I switch over to writing my dystopian novel which, come to think of it, also has a massive number of characters.

Hmm. 1000 words wordpress tells me. I think that’s long enough.

Ciao.

Leave a comment

Filed under Nanowrimo 09

Leave a Reply

