Out with the old, in with the new

So, I’m behind. Let’s pretend to be surprised. But I plan to get back on track tomorrow (Monday), and I’ll work hard for it. By midnight tonight, I expect to be at 256,000, the lowest word count that I’ve yet have had this for month (per day) but I’ll overcome it. I’ve got a new story that I’m working on and I’m excited about it. It’s going to go great and I’ll  be working through it for all of tomorrow, and because it’s 50,000 I’m very hopeful that I’m going to finish it, as I need 300,000 by the end of tomorrow.

This is getting harder. I knew that it would, but that doesn’t make the simple fact of it any easier. It’s easy to sit down at the beginning of the month and set yourself a goal. In the first week, when you’re full of energy, it’s easier to stick to that goal. It’s when week 2 comes around that you feel that subtle something deep down, that says that you don’t have to write right now, and that there will always be more time to do it.

I say no. I say that the time to write is now. I say that there are no doubts allowed and I will continue to write on throughout week 2, and with any luck, I will be on track by the end of tomorrow (Monday). If not that, then I plan to finish this 50k piece by before I go to sleep Monday night so that I can get on track for whatever I decide I’m going to do afterwards.

Enter week 2!

4 Comments

Filed under Nanowrimo 09

4 responses to “Out with the old, in with the new

  1. fromhousewifetofilmmaker

    Kate,
    I found you because you found me. My WP admin thingy tells where new viewers come from, or whatever it was listed under. I’m only just now paying attention to all these other things that are in my admin area. Okay, I’ve paid attention I guess that nothing penetrated the brain due to soooo many other details pertinent to all I’m doing. For some reason today when I looked at this area it clicked, a woman named Kate has a blog and she viewed me. Cool…so let’s have a look at her…I did and I read a bunch of posts from the most current week and jumped around through your past. I loved the broken water heater story!! LOL. And the computer woo’s, could I relate! Beyond that it seems this whole NaNoWriMo has been something that for the last few years you’ve stuck with giving a go. Good for you! I just heard about this a month or so ago and being a writer myself I would like to participate, but the reality is that this year isn’t a good year with starting my business and all. Maybe next year! So, anyways wanted to leave you a little note so you know I was here 🙂 and to say, I’ll be watching your progress and rooting for your goal of, what is it 50,000 to be written.
    Go for it Kate, you can do it!
    Theresa Jane

  2. So I was just browsing Nano (as many writers do) and discovered that you are plowing your way towards 300,000. I about had a heart attack when I noticed this. (Not to worry though; being young, I am in excellent health and heart disease is not a worry)

    I was simply wondering why you’re shooting for 300 k and beyond? It’s definitely awesome, there’s no doubt about that. I’m just simply somewhere in the realm of flabbergasted.

    Best of luck and such,
    Marcus

  3. Hahaha wowwww well good luck with that 🙂

    Any possibility of reading it when it’s done?

Leave a Reply

