Day 3 (or, psych out!)

So I said yesterday that my stumbling block was dealing with badly fleshed out worlds/cultures (see laziness in October postings), and I convinced myself that humanoid aliens would be way easier to write than squid aliens.  I struggled and struggled through the humanoid portion yesterday and today. And I was dreading moving on to dealing with the squids. It breezed right by. Fancy that. My favorite part thus far remains the regular humans, because there’s more intrigue and stuff (read: I fleshed this bit out before November).

I hit the 100,000 earlier than I had expected to, due to some rush work because my mother had to pick up my brother from his band practice. This is important because we usually watch television from 8-11 at night, and usually eat between 5:30 and 6:00. I was back upstairs writing at 6:00, and had until nearly 8:45 to get out another 5,000 words, which led me to the 100,000. I’m really happy to have hit it. I know that the next few days are going to be a struggle, because I’m only exactly on target, i.e. 33,333 words a day, but I’m confident that I can pull through, particularly now that I have some sense of the worlds that I’m working through.

I don’t plan to strive for much more than the bare minimum, unless inspiration really strikes. What I mean is, I’d like to get ahead – why wouldn’t I? – but I get the feeling that this monstrosity does  not bear well to being pushed beyond its limits. Once I am done this first one (the end of the week), I may attempt another 50k day with my other 50k novel to give me a little breathing room, or to catch up if I fall behind (a real possibility).

But, from the Kateness room, all is well in the night sky. The squids, humanoids, and humans are all written and I know something about them all. Tomorrow will be another day, another dozen writing sessions.

1 Comment

Filed under Nanowrimo 09

One response to “Day 3 (or, psych out!)

  1. I found you through NaNoWriMo, and I just have to ask…how can you possibly write 33,333 words every day?? You are amazing. Kudos.

Leave a Reply

