Day 2

Blah. Comparatively slow day. At least I’m managing to stay on track (and losing the 16,000 word headstart I gave myself yesterday, but ah well). I even know the reason for the differing wordcounts.

And it’s not my hands. My hands don’t feel any different than they did yesterday. But today I started This is How it Ends, my massive trilogy. It involves a stupid number of disparate worlds, a lot of characters that I still haven’t named, and it’s generally just not well-prepared. I think in this instance, having an outline makes things *worse*; I know what I’m supposed to be doing, but I don’t know how to put it in the right context. In the first of the three, there’s only three separate plotlines, and until I’ve tackled each of them once, it’s going to be slow-going. After that, I expect things will pick up again. I’ve dealt with one, and already feel more comfortable with it. I think I’m going to avoid hitting the squid aliens until later-ish tonight and go onto the humanoid aliens which I’ll be more comfortable writing because at least they’re roughly human and I’m assuming they think in roughly human ways.

It’s 5pm now and I’m at 65k. I need at least 2,000 more. I’m going to aim for at least 5,000 more, maybe even 10,000. I think that I’ll be writing after midnight tonight, unlike this past night, when I watched TV until 1 and then hung around in the chatroom, getting tireder and not sleeping and not writing. If I can get to 75,000 before bed, I’ll be happy.

Also taken down the excerpt from the fantasy one. For the next few days, the excerpts are going to be from this sucker.

2 Comments

Filed under Nanowrimo 09

2 responses to “Day 2

  1. sage

    I just wanted to say… wow! Best of luck on hitting a million.

  2. Wow! You seem to be doing really well. 😀

Leave a Reply

