NanoEve

As predicted, no progress made on the trilogy. Definitely I’m not starting with that one. I’m pretty sure that I’m going to start with one of the 50k ones, though it may come down to a coin toss right before midnight that actually decides for me. I’ll wait and see if either of them strikes me with sudden inspiration before midnight. I plan to go for the 50k on the first day, just to see if I can, though I’m not certain I’ll get all the way there.  The extra hour helps of course, it means I only have to average 2k an hour, which I know that I can do, it’s just that I’m not that great at going without any sleep, plus I probably have to cook dinner at some point or the family will be perturbed, and I’ll probably watch tv in the evening.

I have to admit minor jealousy of those who’ve already started; I’ve got just 10.5 hours to go. I know, I know, I finish after them so it all evens things out, but that’s not much satisfaction as I watch their word counts slowly but steadily rise. At least I’m not the last time zone to start (I feel sorry for those on Midway Island, 17.5 hours to go!). I’ve successfully managed to keep myself from listening to my NaNo music, so that adds extra anticipation to midnight.

I’ll probably spend most of the rest of the day distracting myself from the fact that it’s not midnight yet. I can probably find something to read, though given the restless mood I’m in, I’m more likely to read five pages of thirty books than read a whole one straight through. I probably won’t do much more work on my NaNos (even though I know it needs to be done, I just won’t be able to focus very well on it. Bah. I’m more ready than I was last year; then I only had an outline for one of my four projects and had to make it up as I went along. Miserable).

I’m not going out trick-or-treating tonight, because I’m not a big Halloween fan. I’ve got a bag of candy corn in my desk drawer, that’ll be good enough.

During the next month, I think I’ll try for daily or every-other-daily updates, but it’ll depend on how much extra time I’ve got hanging around.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “NanoEve

  1. Inspired

    Hey Kateness, I am completely in awe of you. Being my first NaNoWriMo I did a bit of digging before I started, reading the forums etc. One of the forums I looked at had you talking about going for the million, (thinking to myself this was just talk I carried on). Now that november has well and truely started, I realise that you were actually serious.
    A big hi-5! for the awesome effort and I encourage you along the way.
    Just hoping I can put a smile on your face as you embark on your next novel writing splurge.

    Peace out.

    ~Inspired

Leave a Reply

