*sigh*

I haven’t yet received my first nasty Nanomail accusing me of cheating, but I expect that to start within the first few days of November. I can’t tell you how disheartening it is to wake up, log on, and see that I’ve got 5 or 6 messages. Of them, odds are that one, maybe two, of them will be positive. They’ll ask how I do it or just generally offer support. Those people are awesome and deserve great novel karma and total happiness. But then the rest will be people flat-out accusing me of cheating. And they piss me off. A lot. I’m generally a pretty calm, blase, take-the-world-as-it-comes kind of person, but of all the things I do/have done in my life, this is pretty much the real-est. I work my ass off for hours a day, every day, for 30 days. I love doing it and hope to do it for many years to come.

And do you know what surprised me as I was wandering around the forums this year? People were timing their word counts in 10/15 minute intervals, and quite a lot of them can type as much or more than I can in the same period of time. Yes, they’re doing one burst and not sustaining that speed, but that just takes practice and a lucky-good set of wrists. And yes, you’ve got to have the ideas in the first place, which I understand other people sometimes have trouble with. As for quality, the only difference between me who writes a couple thousand in an hour as part of a long day, and the person who procrastinates until 10 at night and pushes all their words out in an hour, is that I was doing it for more hours that day. I remain convinced that the quality of my work is not significantly worse than anyone else’s, on average. And yeah, I understand that most people don’t have the time to dedicate to what I do, and that’s fine. If/when I get married/employed/have kids I’m sure that I’ll have to cut back, and that’s fine. When it happens, it happens. I’ll deal with it then. Everyone’s circumstances are different, and priorities too (no, I’m not saying that it’s a wrong priority to put your job/significant other/children/pet first, I’m saying that it’s a decision), and mine allow me to do this, and my lifestyle allows me to shunt other things into the background for 30 days to do something insane.

Why would I cheat? What the hell would my gain be? Sure, yeah, I get to parade around the forums talking about my word count, but in general, I try to confine that to threads where people are talking about their word count, and even then I don’t post a lot. When I was doing JulNo earlier this year, and was doing word wars with people, after a while I participated silently and didn’t report my count at the end of the war. Because I hate making people uncomfortable with my word count, and I hate making them feel on any level like they’re doing less work than I am. You can see in the previous posts on this blog that I talk about the things I’m going to write, I’m happy to talk about them. The only person losing if I pretended to write those things would be me. As I always do with those who accuse me of cheating, I will do it again this year: if you don’t believe me, I would be delighted to send you all the work I’ve done this month to date.  It will be a rough enough first draft that you’d have to have my notes and a lot of patience to make it anything publishable, and I’m not all that afraid of theft. Sure, I can’t prove that I’ve written it all in November, but it’s the best I can do. If anyone else would like to suggest a way for me to prove I’m telling the truth, I’d be open to all suggestions.

The reason I’m getting this off my chest now, rather than later in November, or another year, is that there’s a lot of commotion going on in the forums about what can and can’t be done, and it’s getting heated on all sides. I’m trying to stay out of it, because making enemies isn’t what I’m on that forum to do, and I’m hideously outnumbered. And the subject of this post isn’t to criticize marienbadmylove. I’ve said my piece about him, and that is all I plan to say. I won’t let him ruin the month for me, just as I won’t let anyone else. All I know is that I will be waiting here, computer on hand, as the clock ticks slowly towards midnight, with a fresh word document open, waiting to begin the month.

As for the how it’s not just random crap spurted out onto a page, which I can understand some would think, the answer is outlines, character pages, maps, and a good memory. If you put together everything I’ve written in preparation for this month, as much as I denigrate my laziness in other posts (which I am. Shamefully lazy), you’d still probably round up at least 30,000 words. Yeah, it’s going to need editing. But what written in a month, 50,000 words or a million, isn’t going to need editing at the end? But it’s not total crap. It’s not just stream of consciousness. I use contractions, I don’t break the fourth wall, and I’m fairly sure that in the four years I’ve done it so far, that I’ve not inserted text from another source (as quotes or anything else). If I run down the list of cheats, I’m 99.99% sure that I’ve not done any of them, and don’t plan to. (Again, not criticizing those who use them). I can read most of what I wrote last year and not wince too much. It’s a bit wordy, and I can tell where I got bored writing it, but I could sit down and read it, and it makes sense.

It has always been, and will always be my view that whether you write one word or a million, if you take the initiative and start that novel that’s always been hiding in the back corner of your mind, just because it’s November and NaNoWriMo, you’re a winner.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “*sigh*

  1. Amelia

    That’s a wonderful post and so very true. I wish you luck on your word goals and a full congratualtions when the end of the month comes.

  2. In your shoes, I’d just agree with everyone who says you’re a cheat. You cheated genetics, inheriting fingers of steel, a good memory, and four tonnes of dedication, imperial.
    Best of luck to you, and us all.

  3. Chomsky-rabbit

    I don’t understand people that say you cheated. You pointed it out quite well: what is the point?
    What you can write is simply amazing. I haven’t read you yet but I would definitely take the copy of your book on the shelfs of a library if I could. 1 million words is beyond possible for me but I’m sure you’ll get to do it.
    You have my support!

  4. The fact that you can write that many words in such a short period is amazing, but people just love thinking that anything that astounding is impossible, just like my friends start fake-hating me for my word count (and it’s never anywhere near yours!). The people who call you out for cheating really don’t have anything else better to do including, apparently, working on their novels. 🙂

  5. In your shoes, I probably would have turned off NaNomail by now.

    I admire you, and I’ve always found you to be very likeable from your forum presence. (That’s such a weird thing to say, I know. Also I don’t think I’ve ever commented on your personal blog before so this probably constitutes me being super creepy.) I think that one of the things people struggle with is this: 50,000 words is a huge deal to them. You’re planning 20 times that much, and not openly talking like it’s a huge deal to you. If 20 times their goal is no big deal, how trifling is their goal? Then defensiveness, lashing out… all simply because you’re doing what you’re doing.

    Best of luck, anyhow. Don’t let the buggers grind you down.

  6. I think I’m going to write a note to myself to go NaNoMail you once a week about how much you rock and how cool you are. It probably won’t combat the hate mail much, but I hope it helps.

  7. I was poking around and checking out word counts and yours definitely caught my eye. Willing to give the benefit of the doubt I followed your profile to your webpage [here]. You’re right, the only one you would be cheating is yourself. I will muddle along with the hopes of something plausible and not total crap while hoping to reach the goal of winning NaNoWriMo at my pace. I would wish you luck in winning, but have no doubt you will. I do wish you luck in writing something you are pleased with and in having a good month despite any naysayers! 🙂

  8. You’re absolutly right about the “What would you gain from lying”. I really don’t understand why anyone would do it, so I understand why you get agravatted from the bad-mouths you get.
    Personally, I find you admirable. Last year I was unemplyed, and yet I just couldn’t find it in myself to just sit all day long in front of the computer, writing. If I had it me, I’d have done so much more, but I didin’t and just got a little over 50 000 words at the end of the month. Yet, it wass the 50 000 that I’d set as my goal and it made me happier than most of what I’d accomplished until then.
    My point is, I do find your wordcount amazing, but I don’t doubt it. I believe you just have the courage and dedication needed to accomplish something that amazing, and I have nothing more to say besides the fact that I find you admirable. I wish I had it en me to commit to something like that.

  9. fizzingwhizbee

    I’ve seen you around the forums a lot (this is my 2nd year of NaNo) and I have to admit, when I first saw your word counts, I found it hard to believe. Not that I was like, cheater! cheater! It was more like, holy crap, is it possible to have 400K in less than 2 weeks?

    I totally agree though, that cheating wouldn’t benefit you, and I believe that you have honestly written that much. It’s just crazy to wrap my mind around that big of a word count when I’m struggling to get anything written after a day at work, haha.

    I’m impressed though, not just with your word count, but your imagination. To be able to write, what is it, like 6 novels? in one month requires a lot of imagination. And to see your previous posts about planning and maps and character sheets, just proves that even further.

    So, sorry I was a skeptic at first- 400K sounds too good to be true, but it’s obvious that you are very talented and are working very hard this month. Good luck with all of your stories!

Leave a Reply

