Preternatural Calm

So in 5 days and a little under 6 hours, I’ll be sitting here probably in exactly the same bad-posture position (slouched back, one leg up on the desk, one leg folded under me) and be starting Nano 2009. Hell, by the time I’ve finished writing this post, I suspect that in 5 days and 6 hours exactly, I’ll have finished my first thousand, which is kind of cool.

I haven’t decided which project I’m going to lead off with. I’m still a little hesitant about This is How it Ends, and I don’t want to start slow and weak, but on the other hand, I’d rather get the more difficult ones done at the beginning before I hit fatigue.  And I’ve got the two short ones; I’m severely tempted to take one of those and attempt to hit 50,000 on Day 1, but I’ve not decided on that, either. It would be great to start over-target, as last year I was behind from Day 1 and it became a miserable battle with myself.  I’d be aided by the extra hour, which could be to my benefit.

I’m still not ready for This is How it Ends. I’ve still got a lot of work to do,but I’m hoping to break it up into small chunks to motivate myself to actually do it.  (For the record, it’s now 6:13, In 5 days and 6 hours, I should have the first thousand done).  I’m more or less ready for the others, though the fantasy one could use a title, but I could just keep calling it “Fantasy 2009 Nano” if I really have to.

The panic hasn’t set in yet. The panic will come on Saturday afternoon when I realize that I’ve still got to name all the squid aliens, half the humans, plus the other set of humans, plus this that and the other. But I have faith that come midnight, the calm will set back in, as it has settled in now.  This is something I love, something I look forward to, and something I will enjoy doing this year just as much as I have enjoyed it in the past.

(I even know where my wrist braces are!)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Preternatural Calm

  1. I just want to say that I think you guys are incredible for trying to hit 1 million, and I hope you get to it! If you can crank out 50k in a day, though, I’m sure you won’t have trouble:) Just from the various creatures that are in one of your books, it sounds fantastic. Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

