Hmm…

Seems as though it’s been a while since I’ve written an entry. I could give a hundred reasons why, but I refuse to explain myself. I am who I am, and writing a regular blog is about as difficult as asking me to keep a regular journal. I just hate talking about myself. I feel that I always end up sounding like an emo teenager, and given that I’m 21 and graduating this May, that that’s an image I really should work on shedding.

Anyway, another November is done with, and despite it taking me until October 31st to decide that I wanted to write more than 100k words, I managed to hit 800k this year with just about 2 hours to spare in the month. However, whatever goal I go for next year, I will make sure to NOT need to write 100k in the last 36.5 hours of the month. That was sheer hell, and I’m surprised it didn’t actually kill me.

I’ve already begun the outline for the fifth novel in the quintet, and I intend to start it tomorrow, given that today is the last day of fall semester classes (and I really should be working on my arabic study-guide right now instead of writing, but I can’t bring myself to do it), and intend to finish it on or before Christmas, depending on how motivated I feel while trying to learn everything that I was supposed to learn this semester.

Next semester, I’m taking at least one (and possibly two, waiting to hear back from the professor on that matter) graduate-level courses. Not sure how well that’s going to work out, but I continue to tell myself that the challenge is worth it. Or something like that, at any rate. We’ll see.

What’s up for next November? I don’t know yet. I would really like to go for the million, but I am hoping to be employed by next November, and so I don’t know. I’ve worked out a way in which I could manage even with a 9-5 job, but having never had one before, I don’t know how realistic it would be, and I’ll have to see how it would work out after I get the job. No idea what I want to do, not sure what the hell I’m qualified to do, or why in this dreadful economy, someone would decide to hire me. But hey, I’ll be an Ivy League grad who can at least pretend to speak 3 languages besides English (French, Russian, Arabic). Surely there’s got to be a job out there that’s better than McDonalds.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Hmm…

  1. Hype

    I know how you feel about regualr blog entries, but maybe you could theme them? Like, perhaps try and do one book review every month, one post on your noveling progress, and one post on something that generally interests you that you think others should look at.

    It’s along the lines of how I’ll be setting up my blog on my portfolio website, if i can ever finish it.

    Just a thought.

    – Hype, from Nanowrimo.org

    P.S. Congrats on your 800K

Leave a Reply

