This Summer

So it’s been a little while since my last post. I’ve been taking Arabic for a week and two days. Hardest language I’ve ever tried to learn, and that by and far includes Russian as well. It’s not just the right-to-left (though that’s taking some getting used to), and it’s not just the script (which as I’ve never properly learned cursive, was a pain), it’s the whole understanding – they don’t write short vowels, they only write the long ones, and the textbooks are the only place where they give you the fully “vocalized” word. And only once, because after the first time, they just expect you to have remembered. Class is four and a half hours a day, plus at least 5 hours at home trying to stay on track of things. The thing is, this 6 week class is supposed to cover an entire YEAR of Arabic. But I will persevere!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “This Summer

  1. If you’re still interested…I would love to read any of your novels that you wrote back for Nano 07 (and in case I forget I wish you the best of luck in hitting your million word goal this november…I once heard a quote saying that once you write a million words, you throw them all out and then start again because only after a million words are you a writer…)

  2. Blondie

    If you are still open to it, I would love to read any of the novels that you wrote for nano 2007.

    Good luck with nano 2008.

  3. Great job on your word count so early in the month. Did you publish your work??? ..

    Arabic is hard. I learned a few things from friends. I do not have much trouble with languages. I am currently learning Japanese with Rosetta Stone…. pretty nifty. That is a short time to learn… I hope you have much success.

Leave a Reply

