Just so I know I’m not going easy on myself

I decided today that it’s time to start thinking about November. In my opinion, it’s perfectly reasonable. If I’m going to have a hope, a shard of hope at all, in hitting a million words in one month, then I need to start planning very early so that come November 1, I am to the point of almost knowing what every single one of those million words is, in advance. That’s not to say I’m going to cheat, I’m just going to be disgustingly well-prepared.

Anyway, I had a plan two days ago. I was going to write 2 trilogies and then a duology (or two singlets). So I open up my good old MS Word and start brainstorming for the first trilogy. (Okay, I lie. It’s going to be an expansion on and a better-formulated version of one of this past year’s Nano). As I’m writing out basic plot summaries for each of the three books, I realize that three isn’t going to wrap it up, and neither is four. So I go to add the fifth book and I think…a million divides nicely by five!

And so I am now writing a quintet for November’s Nano. It is, as of right now, called the Lost Years Saga.Β  I’m not sure about this whole thing, though. Last November, I wrote a number of different projects, and the same for the year before. Mind you, I didn’t switch between projects, I worked from the beginning to the end of each before moving onto the next, but there was always something new to look forward to. Not so this year. So I’m ambivalent about this idea, so far.

I’ll have to see how it pans out.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Just so I know I’m not going easy on myself

  1. 500k is incredible. As in, I thought 50k words in a month was insane, but you make it sound like homework for preschoolers! I learned in October that planning and plotting is the key. I have no doubt that you will reach your goal πŸ™‚

    I’m glad to hear that someone is still writing/plotting. NaNo ’07 was the first NaNo I participated, and I finished my novel at some 50,300 words according to MSW. I’m in the process of another novel for January, and I just passed the 30,000 word mark yesterday. Competition, I’ve found, is also important! I figure that now is the time to write, when I just have school and haven’t started working. πŸ˜›

    Good luck with everything!

  2. God in heaven. You wrote more in a month than I’ve written in the past three years. My question isn’t, “How did you do it?” I’ve had days where I wrote 7,000 words, spending perhaps six hours writing consecutively. I understand the mechanics of it, especially for someone who plans more capably than do I and thus does not need to pause so much to think.

    The question is, therefore, not how; the question is, what. What do you write? After a writing day during which I’ve really pushed myself, I usually won’t write again for another day or two at least, because I’m drained. I have nothing left about which to write when in that circumstance. But you must just not have that problem. I am envious, and happy for you. πŸ™‚

  3. Wow. I’m seriously impressed! πŸ˜€

    Hope that goes well for you. Will see you in Nov!

    ~Merc

Leave a Reply

