The Next Steps

Well, I’ve decided that while I have vastly more important things to do (like dealing with the end of the semester), I’m going to pull my personal favorite of the lot (Kuklos) through to a publishable size novel. I’m envisioning it being somewhere between 90k-100k, and hoping to have that finished by the middle of January when I come back here for the spring semester.

My other pet project,  The Mortal Gods, which is something I’ve had in the works in one form or another since I was 13, is still demanding my attention. I think it’s about as solid as it can be and I just need to figure out the right way to query it. I’ve had 4, I think, rejections for it so far, but I’m not giving up on it. I know that a first novel is often unpublishable, but this one’s gone so far since its conception that I don’t think it can even really be said to be the same novel as I wrote when I was a freshman in high school. But I’ll probably give it some attention over the next few weeks, too.

Also, as I’ve said on the NaNoWriMo site, I’m open to letting pretty much anyone read any of the previously mentioned novels because I think feedback is important, and as I’m going to be un-busy over Christmas and the weeks following it, I’d be happy to  return the favor or critique a story you’d like me to take a look at (personal specialties: thrillers, sci-fi, fantasy).

As for the rest of my projects? Well, two of them I really don’t like the way they turned out, and so I’ll probably leave them to rot. My fantasy novel, Games of Mind and Sword, I might try rewriting before next November so I can do a sequel then, but that’s way too far ahead to think about.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Next Steps

  1. Chronon

    I saw your excerpt on NaNoWriMo… and it looks very interesting. I’d like to possibly read it.

  2. Ausorn

    I saw your excerpt too and I’d love to read it (or any of your other stories) if you don’t mind.

  3. Rajah

    I just read your extract as well, and it sounds fabulous.

Leave a Reply

