No, not writing related

Well, not fiction related. I’ve not been doing a ton of that lately. Submitted a short somewhere, got rejected. It’s currently on submission somewhere else, but I’ve heard nothing back on that front yet. Probably won’t, given their deadlines, for some time.

But I have been doing some work-writing, which has been interesting. Legal drafting is so much different than fiction writing (as evidenced when the attorney took my first draft and started hacking). All the same, it has convinced me that, yes, I am capable of stringing words together to make coherent sentences. [And trust me, given the work atmosphere of mine, that is substantial reinforcement].

Fiction writing is tough. I come home from work, and the last thing I want to do is anything that involves brainpower. Reading a book is tough. Then we get to the weekends and I don’t want to subject myself to more work.

All the same, I know that’s no excuse. Most amateur writers can hold down a job and write in their down-time, and can do so even while managing a family and/or a household. I know I’m just making excuses for myself.

So. Starting today (May 11, 2011), I am going to pledge to myself that I will write minimum 100 words of fiction per day. Not a lot, but patterns and rituals help, and can evolve as I progress.

I guess this was more a self-reassurance post than a real post, but I’m going to publish it anyway. Why? If for no other reason, so the 100 words is something someone else has seen.

Peace, lurkers.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “No, not writing related

  1. This is why I try to blog something every day, even if it’s just 100 words. At least I’m writing something, even if it’s something terrible, horrible, and no good. The habit is what needs to be forming. Good luck.

  2. I know exactly what you mean – I have to try to wrench my brain away from writing marketing copy and force it to concentrate on fiction every lunch hour.

    I think having a little notebook and pen with me most of the time makes me feel better…I can scribble down notes and ideas and passages of narrative or dialogue wherever I am, and although my word count hasn’t gone up it still counts as writing.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

